Skip to main content

Run With George

881. George Mathias

George Mathias, aged 11, from Merseyside, has raised over £55,000 in support of ‘Alder Hey Children’s Hospital’ in Liverpool.

When his younger brother James went into a coma on the day he was born and was saved by the treatment he received at ‘Alder Hey’, George decided to undertake sponsored runs in aid of the charity through his ‘Run With George’ campaign. George’s efforts have inspired thousands of people to participate in his running challenge, including celebrities and leading sports figures such as Sir Chris Hoy, Rebecca Adlington, and Steven Gerrard. His fundraising for his first 100 miles has provided new facilities for premature babies in Alder Hey’s Special Care Baby Unit. George was awarded a 2017 ‘Pride of Britain’ award and is continuing to keep up his running challenge to raise further support for ‘Alder Hey’.

George received his award in a presentation at the Liverpool FC Foundation, where he first started his sponsored runs.

In a personal letter to George, Prime Minister Theresa May said:

“Your ‘Run With George’ campaign for ‘Alder Hey Children’s Hospital’ is a remarkable achievement, and I was delighted to have met you at Downing Street last year. You should be enormously proud of the transformational impact your fundraising is having on young children in need of specialist hospital treatment, and for inspiring thousands of people to support your vital cause.”

George said:

“I am so honoured to receive this award from the Prime Minister. I really enjoy raising money and trying to inspire other people to take up running, so to receive this award is more than I could have dreamt of. I would like to say thank you so much to the Prime Minister for choosing me for this amazing award, and she is always welcome to join me on a run!”

George also recorded a message:

See more on Run With George

The daily Points of Light award recognises outstanding individual volunteers - people who are making a change in their community.

Volunteer now

Search winners