Skip to main content

MS Society Ambassador

974. Trishna Bharadia

Trishna Bharadia, from Buckinghamshire, is a pioneering ‘MS Society’ ambassador leading the conversation about MS and chronic illness in Asian communities.

Trishna Bharadia

Trisna, who appeared on BBC’s ‘People’s Strictly for Comic Relief’, regularly leads talks and advises on research studies, educating healthcare professionals about living with MS, an illness that affects 100,000 people in the UK. As editor of the ‘Asian MS Quarterly newsletter’ she has created a community of members living with the condition who she supports with social activities and free information about services.

In a personal letter to Trishna, Prime Minister Theresa May said:

“Your invaluable work as an ambassador for the MS Society is raising awareness of Multiple Sclerosis and other chronic conditions. Your outreach work, particularly to people in the Asian community, is providing essential information and support to so many others who are living with the condition.”

Dominic Grieve QC, MP for Beaconsfield said:

“I am delighted to hear of Trisha Bharadia’s well deserved award for her work as Ambassador for the MS Society. In the particular emphasis she has placed on helping those within the Asian community, which is well represented in my constituency, she has been doing work of great value for our community.”

Trishna said:

“This is amazing news. It’s great to have an initiative that recognises all the work that volunteers are doing across the country, as it will hopefully encourage others to get involved. Hopefully they’ll enjoy it as much as I do! It’s also great for further raising awareness about MS and chronic illness, as well as the work that the various organisations I’m involved with, such as the ‘MS Society’, do.”

Watch Trishna’s response to her award:

Trishna Bharadia on receiving a Points of Light award

The daily Points of Light award recognises outstanding individual volunteers - people who are making a change in their community.

Volunteer now

Search winners